Remington shared its early history with other nearby communities that grew up alongside the mills built along the Jones Falls, whose 260-foot drop powered grist mills, iron foundries and textile mills. In addition to the water-powered factories along the Jones Falls, quarries in the Remington area operated for over 100 years and provided an enormous amount of stone for the building of Baltimore, furnishing material for thousands of foundations, walls and steps.
The neighborhood was named after William Remington, an early landowner who held property in the center of the area. As the population grew with the mills and quarries, America’s first electric railway, built in 1885, brought new residents. Remington became an attractive suburb and was annexed into the city in 1888. Extensive building occurred from 1914 through the 1920s, with daylight and marble row houses being the dominant types. Marble row houses were characterized by their flat or slightly bowed fronts and featured decorative marble and stained glass. The more elaborate daylight row houses became popular in the 1920s and featured a window in each room, often including a skylight in interior rooms.
Remington continues to be a vibrant residential community with many of its historical features intact.
Sources: Beyond The White Marble Steps, 1979
North Baltimore From Estate to Development, 1988